Free Consultations936-647-1540

Is Fleeing a DWI in a Vehicle a Felony Offense?

 Posted on November 10,2023 in Uncategorized

Conroe Criminal Lawyer

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime in Texas, and attempting to flee the scene can lead to even more severe consequences. In Texas, fleeing the scene of a DWI in a vehicle can result in felony charges being brought against you. If you are facing felony charges related to fleeing the scene of a suspected DWI, you must seriously consider hiring a criminal defense lawyer. When facing charges such as this, you need to do everything in your power to fight for your rights and freedom. Hiring a lawyer is a wise first step in combating these very serious charges.

Understanding DWI Laws in Texas

It is well known that in Texas, a person is considered legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. A DWI conviction can result in prison time, alcohol education classes, license revocations, and more. However, the severity of the offense 

is escalated substantially if additional factors, such as fleeing the scene, are also involved.

Fleeing a DWI in a Vehicle

In Texas, fleeing the scene of a DWI in a vehicle can result in a two-year jail term and a fine of up to $10,000. Not to mention, you will likely be charged with a felony if you attempt to evade arrest using your motor vehicle. If the person in question has previous convictions for a similar offense, or if their attempt to escape arrest results in the serious bodily injury or death of another person, it is likely that the penalties associated with a conviction will be even more significant.

Never Flee from the Police

Resisting arrest or attempting to evade arrest, especially in a car, is a decision that can seriously escalate an already negative legal situation. In most cases, the reason people try to evade police is that they are afraid. It is essential that if police have pulled you over, you act in a cordial and non-hostile manner. Furthermore, if the police attempt to pull you over, you must safely pull over. Stay calm and avoid rash decisions once the officer arrives at your car window. You give yourself the best chance of at least having a civil interaction with the law enforcement officer. 

Contact a Montgomery County, TX DWI Lawyer


Do not fight these charges alone. Contact the determined Montgomery County, TX DWI attorney with Pullan & Young. Call 936-647-1540 for a free consultation today.

Share this post:
Back to Top