Free Consultations936-647-1540

Conroe DWI Attorney

Conroe, TX driving while intoxicated lawyer

Defense Lawyers for DWI Charges in Montgomery County

Drunk driving is known to be dangerous, and the use of alcohol or other intoxicating substances can seriously affect a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and avoid accidents. Because intoxicated driving can lead to dangerous car wrecks that may result in serious or fatal injuries, a person who is accused of this offense may face serious consequences. A DWI conviction can result in jail time, hefty fines, license suspension or revocation, and other penalties that could affect multiple aspects of a person's life for years to come.

Following a DWI arrest, it is important to work with a criminal defense lawyer as you defend against the charges and address issues that could affect your driver's license. At Pullan & Young, our experienced DWI attorneys can review the facts of your case and build a strong defense strategy tailored specifically to your situation. With our help, you may be able to have your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. We will work closely with you to determine the best options available that will minimize the negative effects on your life.

DWI Charges in Texas

Texas laws refer to drunk driving as driving while intoxicated, which is often abbreviated as DWI. Notably, intoxicated driving is not just related to alcohol use. A driver who is accused of using any substances that cause physical or mental impairment, including controlled substances such as marijuana, prescription medications, or a combination of multiple substances, may face DWI charges if their ability to drive safely was impaired. If a breathalyzer or other chemical test showed that a driver had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent, they will be considered to be intoxicated.

A first or second DWI offense will usually result in misdemeanor charges. However, even though misdemeanors are less serious than felonies, they can still have serious penalties. A first-time DWI is generally classified as a Class B misdemeanor, although Class A misdemeanor charges will apply if a driver had a BAC of at least .15 percent. A person who is convicted of a Class B misdemeanor may face a sentence of up to six months in jail, and a mandatory three-day sentence will be imposed. If there was an open container of alcohol in the vehicle, the minimum sentence is six days. A driver may also be fined up to $2,000, and other fees and surcharges will also apply. With the increase in car insurance rates that will usually go into effect, the total cost of a DWI is likely to be several thousand dollars. In addition to everything else, a person will be subject to a driver's license suspension of up to one year.

A second DWI is usually charged as a Class A misdemeanor, and a conviction may result in a jail sentence of up to one year, with a minimum sentence of 30 days. The fines for a second offense will increase to $4,000, and a two-year license suspension may apply. While some options for relief may be available to those who face DWI charges for the first time, those who are charged for a second time may be treated more harshly. They may not be able to receive probation, and they may struggle to regain their driving privileges.

For a third or subsequent DWI offense, or in situations involving aggravating factors, felony DWI charges may be pursued by prosecutors. Felony charges can be especially serious, and a conviction will often result in sentences of one year or more, as well as over $10,000 in fines.

Contact Our Conroe DWI Defense Attorneys

If you have been arrested for DWI, you will need a strong legal advocate on your side as you determine your options for defense. At Pullan & Young, we can advise you on whether you can challenge the evidence against you or show that your rights were violated by a police officer, and we help you understand the best approach to take during your case. Whether we are pursuing a dismissal of charges, probation, or a plea bargain that will allow for reduced penalties, we will do everything we can to help you resolve your case successfully. To set up a free consultation, contact us at 936-647-1540. We are available 24/7 to assist you following an arrest.

Back to Top